Multi-User Quick Start Guide

Last Updated: Jul 20, 2016 01:52PM PDT


Zipwhip offers apps to text from your desktop, tablet, and smartphone.



Multi-user login
Enter your full username and password at zipwhip.com/login, or the mobile and desktop app log in screen. Full usernames include the name, @ symbol, and the landline or toll free number (ex: wcameron@4257774230). If you’re a user on multiple accounts, your password is the same for all numbers.

Web app basics
Send a text message & picture text 
• Click the New Text button on the toolbar. This opens the Send Text box where you enter the recipient’s name or mobile phone number. You can create a message with up to 250 characters.
• Users can attach a PNG, JPG, or GIF file to outgoing text messages. Click the Add Image button (paper clip) and select the file saved on your computer. When an image preview appears next to the Add Image button, click Send.



Create a new contact 
• To create a new contact, click New Contact in the main menu. Enter their first and last name, and mobile phone number. Click Save and Close.Your contact is now created and sync’ed across all Zipwhip apps.


Advanced features
The web app offers additional functionality to make text conversations more efficient.
• Signature - To add a signature on all outbound texts, on the Main Menu, and select Settings. Click the Messaging tab to create a custom signature.*
• Auto Reply-On the toolbar, click Auto Reply to set automated greetings for incoming texts according to the time of day and day of the week.*
• Keywords-On the toolbar, click Keyword to create a custom reply that is sent when a customer texts a specific word.*
• Scheduled Text-On the New Text Drop down, and click New Scheduled Text to create a future outbound text.



• Group Text-First, create a contact group. On the Main Menu, select New Group. Name the group, add up to 50 members, and click Save. Next, click New Text on the toolbar, type the group name & message, and click Send. Messages sent as a group text are sent as a blind carbon copy- only the sender sees replies to the original text message.
• Browser Notifications- Browser notifications alert users of new inbound texts when the web app is hidden or minimized. On the Main Menu, select Settings, click the Alerts tab and the select Enable Notifications. While this feature is enabled by either Master Admins or Admins, Operators also receive notifications.*

User role permissions



Support
You can find useful tips and solutions on using Zipwhip by visiting our support center at https://support.zipwhip.com/.

Can I assign one user to multiple phone numbers?
Yes. An admin still must add the user to the phone number. Once added, they log in with the password previously created for another number. Be sure the user’s email is always the same when adding them to each number.

I forgot my username. What do I do?
Please go to http://zipwhip.com/login. Click the Forgot Username link. Enter the email associated with your individual user profile and we’ll email you your current username. You don’t have to create a new username.

Multi-user collaboration features
• Unread Aging Timer-If a message goes unread for 5 minutes, the interval between the time it was received and the current time appears in red.



• Mark as Read-To mark a message as read, move the cursor over the unread message bubble. The message bubble will turn a muted blue.
• Sent by User Stamp-All outbound texts include the sender’s username in the time stamp. The username is not visible to the recipient.
• Is Typing-When a user is typing a response, this indicator notifies other logged in users that the contact is being answered.
• Last Replied-When a Zipwhip user replies to a message, their username appears in the customer’s contact card in the Conversation panel.

Manage users​
To go to the manage users, on the Main Menu, select Settings, and click the Users tab.



To add a new user
On the Users tab, click Add New User. Complete all the user’s details. Select the role (Admin or Operator) that matches the user’s role and permissions. Select the appropriate status; Active for immediate access or Inactive
for access at a later time.

To edit/delete a user
In the Active User or Inactive Users list, click the appropriate user. In the User Profile Details dialog box, click Edit. In the Manage User dialog box (Profile tab), you can update the user’s username, first/last name, email, role (operator/admin), status (active/inactive). To permanently remove the user, click Delete, and then confirm. The user is deleted but their entire text message history remains visible.

 
Attachments

Customer Care

noc@zipwhip.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete